Gautrain Management Agency
About Us

Gautrain, an initative of the Gauteng Province Government (GPG), is a state-of-art rapid rail network in Gauteng. The rail connection comprises of two links, namely a link between Tshwane and Johannesburg and a link between OR Tambo International Airport and Sandton. Apart from the three terminal stations of these two links, seven other stations are linked by approximately 80 kilometres of rail along the route.​

The GMA was established in 2006, in terms of the GMA Act (Act 5 of 2006). Critical to the GMA mandate is to ensure that the Gautrain System operates in a sustainable manner with a clear commitment to governance and the GPG’s primary economic objectives.​


GMA Mandate and Structure​​​​

The primary objectives of the GMA is to​ ​​manage, co-ordinate and oversee the Gautrain Project.  To achieve this, the GMA must:​​

  • • Assist the GPG in implementing the Gautrain​​ and achieving the Project’s objectives;
  • ​​​​• Act on ​​behalf of the GPG in managing the rela​tionship between the Province and the Concessionaire in terms of the Concession Agreement and ensur​e that the interests of the Province are protected
  • • Enhance the integration of the Gautrain w​​ith other transport servic​es and Public Transport Plans;
  • • Promote and maximise the Socio Economic Development and Broad Based Black Economic Empowerment objectives of the GPG in relation to the Ga​utrain;
  • • Liaise with and promote cooperation between government structures in all three spheres of government in relation to the Gautrain;
  • • Liaise with persons with an interest in the Gautrain Project;
  • • Manage assets relating to the Gautrain and promote their preservation and maintenance;
  • • Manage the finances of the Gautrain Project and the financial securities provided by the Concessionaire; and
  • • Monitor the policy and legislative environment of the Gautrain Project.


Vision and Leadership

The vision of the GMA is to provide an integrated, innovative and efficient public transport system that promotes sustainable socio-economic growth in South Africa. To achieve the vision, the GMA’s mission is to manage, co-ordinate and oversee the Gautrain Project through the implementation of the Concession Agreement between the GPG and the Concessi onaire. The GMA values are confirmed as excellence, professionalism, integrity, fairness and transparency, trustworthiness, accountability and responsibility, collaboration and co-creativity, ethical and prudent behaviour and respectfulness.

The Gauteng MEC for Roads and Transport, currently Mr Jacob Mamabolo, is the Executive Authority of the GMA and the GMA Board is the Accounting Authority as contemplated in the Public Finance Management Act. The GMA Board is appointed by the MEC for Roads and Transport.


The GMA Board including the Chairperson and the Deputy Chairperson, is appointed by the MEC for Roads and Transport in accordance with the GMA Act. The Board consists of a majority of Independent Non-Executive Members. The CEO is the only Executive Member of the Board, by virtue of his Office.

The roles of the Chairperson of the Board and the CEO are separated, in line with best practice.

The Board Chairperson is an independent Non-Executive Member of the Board and is responsible for ensuring the integrity and effectiveness of the Board and its Committees, as well as ensuring that the Board discharges its responsibilities.

The GMA board is chaired by Mr Mogopodi Mokoena and is made up of:

  •  • Ms Puli Moloto-Stofile (Deputy Chairperson)
  •  • Ms Sebina Hlapolosa
  •  • Mr Eagle Bolokang Lengane
  •  • Mr Abel Mawela
  •  • Mr Donovan Nadison
  •  • Ms Lucretia Khumalo
  •  • Ms Reshoketswe Ralebepa
  •  • Dr.  Prittish Dala

The GMA Board is the foundation of the GMA’s corporate governance systems and is accountable and responsible for the GMA’s performance. The Board retains effective control through a clear governance structure and has established committee​s to assist it.

The Board has established the following committees and also approved the Committees’ Terms of Reference:

  • Audit and Risk Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • HR and Remuneration Committee
  • Social and Ethics Committee

Contact Info
Contact Us
Send Message

Let us Call You

Follow Us