The Vision 2030 Awards, hosted for the first time this year, has announced its 2017 finalists.

The awards are a groundbreaking first for South Africa, recognising as it does the achievements and success stories of organisations, enterprises and individuals that are actively demonstrating alignment to the government’s Nine-Point Plan to boost economic growth and achieve the milestones set by the National Development Plan (NDP).

The overwhelming number of nominations for the various categories of the Awards casts a positive glow on the future of South Africa and restores faith in the efforts of companies and individuals to make the future of our children in South Africa brighter.

The awards, and the accompanying Vision 2030 Summit, will draw together a host of business leaders and government leaders – the commitment of both parties is integral to the success of the NDP.

Leading by example, the winners showcased by the Awards will inspire their sector peers, and stakeholders nationwide, to pledge commitment to the NDP – not in words alone but in actions that move the nation forward.

From the organiser of the Vision 2030 Awards and Summit, Topco Media: “We are delighted with the response received for these awards. This is a first of its kind in South Africa, and the only dedicated platform showcasing the good work these companies and individuals are doing on the ground.”

The winners will be announced and celebrated on 22 June 2017 at the Birchwood Hotel in Johannesburg. Tickets can be booked by emailing:

If you would like to attend the Vision 2030 Summit as a delegate, you can book your seat here:

 The complete list of this year’s Vision 2030 Awards finalists can be found here: or see below.


African Equity Empowerment Investments

ArcelorMittal South Africa

Boxer Superstores

British American Tobacco SA

WOA Fuels & Oils

HEALTHCARE AWARD sponsored by Mylan SA

Clicks Group Ltd

Clinix Health Group

Government Employees Medical Scheme

Hospice Palliative Care Association

The Innovative Pharmaceutical Association South Africa

National Department of Health


Amadlelo Agri

British American Tobacco SA

Eastern Cape Rural Development Agency

Mariveni Farmers Co-Operative

Woolworths Holdings Ltd

EDUCATION AWARD sponsored by Human Resource Development Council

Cape Town University of Technology

Clicks Group Ltd

Department of Basic Education

Eskilz College

Richfield Graduate Institute of Technology

South African Broadcasting Corporation

Spring Lights Gas (Pty) Ltd

Symphonia for South Africa

The Da Vinci Institute for Technology Management

University of Johannesburg

Vaal University of Technology


AcerlorMittal South Africa

Anglo American Platinum

WOA Fuels & Oils


ArcelorMittal South Africa

Automotive Industry Development Centre

Bigen Africa

Bombela Concession – Gautrain

Boniswa Corporate Solutions

City of Cape Town – Water & Sanitation

Coega Development Corporation

Dormac Marine & Engineering

Indigo Kulani Group


Centre for Public Service Innovation

EOH Holdings

Global Business Solutions

National Research Foundation

The Council for Scientific and Industrial Research

The Innovation Hub

University of Johannesburg

Vaal University of Technology


Asher Bohbot – EOH Holdings

Carol Weaving – Reed Exhibitions

Dr Louise van Rhyn – Symphonia for South Africa

Freddy Masekwameng – Two Mountains

Hubert Mathanzima Mweli – Department of Basic Education

Jeffrey Every – Amadlelo Agri

Kamal Timmal – Eskilz College

Kgomotso Pooe – Soweto Outdoor

Khalid Abdulla – African Equity Empowerment Investment

Malebona Precious Matsoso – National Department of Health

Matsietsi Mokholo – Department of Public Enterprise

Patricia Chiloane – Training at Work

Professor Ambassador Edgars – GBSH Consult Group

Richard Schulz – Adept Airmotive

Veli Eric Mabena – Maluti TVET College


Calvin & Family Group

Orvall Corporate Designs

South African Council for Natural Scientific Professions

Soweto Outdoor

The Green House

Training at Work

Treatment Action Campaign



Amadlelo Agri

Anglo American Platinum

Bombela Concession – Gautrain

Cape Town International Convention Centre

Durban International Convention Centre

Government Employee Medical Scheme

Havas Worldwide

Ithala Development Finance Corporation

National Health Department

Sasfin Holdings

WDB Trust


Issued by:
Topco Media

Adrienne Taylor, Project Manager: Marketing

Note to Ed: If you are interested in organising an interview with any of the above-mentioned finalists, please email

More about the event:
In 2015, Topco Media hosted a successful Summit on the National Development Plan and published a publication, both of which were fully endorsed by the NPC. This year, we are repeating the Summit on 21 and 22 June. In addition the Summit will be accompanied by the inaugural Vision 2030 Awards, designed to celebrate those implementing the vision and goals of the National Development Plan.

Let us Call You

Follow Us